Il Duomo

Milan – sightseeing day

Pre-Day 1.

Milan is so hot and I am so tired. Woke at 1 am but could not sleep because I knew I had to be up at 4 am to catch my flight.

It is like June here. It’s really hot around midday and the sun is bright. Too bright for nice photos. I am hot. I look at Milanese women and they are fashionably dressed, wearing coats. I’m thinking, it’s too hot for coats. I also feel like an elephant, or maybe a turtle.

I look in a shop window. The reflection looks back. Yup! Turtle.

The half day tour of Milan doesn’t go well. We can’t get into several places. Actually 3 out of the 4 places. For one reason or other – La Scala is closed, Il Duomo is crowded. We are given a panoramic tour instead and this gets us in time to The Last Supper. Thankfully, this was the only thing I wanted to see and there was no other choice of tickets for me, so I’m happy. But the Americans are not. I’d like to stand nearby and see if they get their money back, so that I could get mine. I’m now on a budget after all, but I’m too tired to work up the anger.

Milan reminds me of Spain and France – pared back apartment style buildings, against large tree lined boulevards with Triumphal arches. And then I learn Milan’s was ruled by both. And that Bonaparte was King of Italy. That Bonaparte, he really got around. It’s a nice city but it is a working city. I would have liked to spend a longer time in Milan. And with a bigger budget, browsing the fashion houses, and designer furniture stores, and eating at the Campari bar in the Galleria Vittorio overlooking the Duomo would be lovely. Can’t blow my entire trip budget in one day. Milan is that sort of city.

I write this post whilst I sleep in a 4 bed room with a strange man in one bunk, and a South Korean woman in another. Honestly guys, for those who’ve known me longest, did you ever think this would happen? đŸ˜‚

One thought on “Milan – sightseeing day

Leave a comment